My Favorites

August 17, 2023 –  Pullman & Comley, LLC would like to congratulate 41 of its attorneys for being recognized by The Best Lawyers in America® on their 2024 list. Of those attorneys, six were named “Lawyer of the Year” in their practice area and location, and six were identified as “Ones to Watch.”

Recognition by Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer review. The process is designed to capture, as accurately as possible, the consensus opinion of leading lawyers about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical area and legal practice area.

For the 2024 edition of The Best Lawyers in America, more than 13.7 million votes were analyzed, which resulted in recognition of approximately 5% of lawyers in private practice in the United States.

The following Pullman & Comley attorneys appear in The Best Lawyers in America 2024 in the following practice areas:

  • Michael J. Andreana — Public Finance Law
  • David P. Atkins — Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Ethics and Professional Responsibility Law, Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants
  • Campbell D. Barrett — Appellate Practice, Family Law
  • Megan Y. Carannante — Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Construction, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Stephen M. Cowherd — Health Care Law
  • Geoffrey F. Fay — Real Estate Law
  • Monte E. Frank — Commercial Litigation
  • Eliot B. Gersten — Commercial Litigation
  • Andrew C. Glassman — Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships), Corporate Compliance Law, Corporate Governance Law, Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • Irve J. Goldman — Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Bankruptcy
  • Nancy A. D. Hancock — Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)
  • Joshua A. Hawks-Ladds — Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Lee D. Hoffman — Energy Law, Energy Regulatory Law, Environmental Law
  • Robert L. Holzberg — Arbitration, Mediation
  • Dana M. Hrelic — Appellate Practice
  • Brion J. Kirsch — Real Estate Law
  • Frederic Lee Klein — Energy Law, Water Law
  • Jon T. Kukucka — Family Law, Family Law Arbitration, Family Law Mediation
  • James F. Martin – Real Estate Law, Automotive Law
  • Kristin B. Mayhew – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Commercial Litigation
  • D. Robert Morris — Litigation – Antitrust
  • Gary B. O’Connor — Litigation – Real Estate, Real Estate Law
  • Jonathan B. Orleans — Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Alan S. Parker — Trusts and Estates
  • Marie V. Phelan — Public Finance Law
  • Michael E. Riley — Arbitration
  • Richard C. Robinson — Litigation – Construction
  • Stephen M. Sedor — Education Law, Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Gregory F. Servodidio — Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law
  • James T. Shearin — Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Antitrust, Litigation – Banking and Finance, Litigation – Intellectual Property, Litigation – Securities
  • John F. Stafstrom Jr. — Public Finance Law
  • James B. Stewart — Trusts and Estates
  • Marcy Tench Stovall — Ethics and Professional Responsibility Law, Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants
  • Diane W. Whitney — Commercial Litigation, Environmental Law
  • Frederic Ury – Commercial Litigation

Six Attorneys Named ‘Lawyer of the Year’

Within The Best Lawyers in America list, only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year,” making this accolade particularly significant. These lawyers are selected based on particularly impressive voting averages received during the peer review assessments. Receiving this designation reflects the high level of respect a lawyer has earned among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism List and their integrity.

Pullman & Comley would like to congratulate the following attorneys recognized by Best Lawyers as the 2024 “Lawyer of the Year” in the following practice areas and locations:

  • Campbell D. Barrett — Family Law (Hartford)
  • Irve J. Goldman — Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law (Stamford)
  • Lee D. Hoffman — Energy Regulatory Law (Hartford)
  • Robert L. Holzberg — Arbitration (Hartford) and Mediation (Hartford)
  • Jonathan B. Orleans — Employment Law – Management (Stamford)
  • Diane W. Whitney — Environmental Law (Hartford)

Note: The metropolitan area location categories are assigned by Best Lawyers and may not reflect the Pullman & Comley office where these attorneys most commonly work.

‘Ones to Watch’

Pullman & Comley would also like to congratulate the following attorneys recognized by Best Lawyers as “Ones to Watch.” These attorneys, each of whom is earlier in their career, have been highlighted for the contributions they have made in the following areas of practice:

  • Tabitha Ayer — Corporate Law
  • Thomas S. Lambert — Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Construction, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • Bianca LoGiurato — Commercial Litigation
  • Stacie Provencher — Family Law
  • Kelly A. Scott — Family Law, Family Law: Arbitration and Mediation
  • Zachary T. Zeid — Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law, Labor and Employment Law – Management


About Best Lawyers

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence.


About Pullman & Comley

Pullman & Comley is one of Connecticut’s largest law firms and, for more than 100 years, has provided a wide range of legal services to clients in the New England region, as well as throughout the United States and internationally. Pullman & Comley’s major practice areas include business organizations and finance; government finance; health care; labor, employment law and employee benefits; litigation; property tax and 39 Pullman & Comley Attorneys Named to 2024 Best Lawyers® List valuation; real estate, energy, environmental and land use; and trusts and estates. The firm has offices in Bridgeport, Hartford, Waterbury and Westport, Connecticut; White Plains, New York; Springfield, Massachusetts; and Wakefield, Rhode Island. The firm is an active member of the Law Firm Alliance, an international affiliation of law firms. For more information, please visit



  • Michael J. Andreana
  • David P. Atkins
  • Tabitha Ayer
  • Campbell D. Barrett
  • Megan Youngling Carannante
  • Stephen M. Cowherd
  • Geoffrey F. Fay
  • Monte E. Frank
  • Eliot B. Gersten
  • Andrew C. Glassman
  • Irve J. Goldman
  • Nancy A. D. Hancock
  • Joshua A. Hawks-Ladds
  • Lee D. Hoffman
  • Robert L. Holzberg
  • Dana M. Hrelic
  • Brion J. Kirsch
  • Frederic Lee Klein
  • Jon T. Kukucka
  • Thomas S. Lambert
  • Bianca LoGiurato
  • James F. Martin
  • Kristin B. Mayhew
  • Robert Morris
  • Gary B. O’Connor
  • Jonathan B. Orleans
  • Alan S. Parker
  • Marie V. Phelan
  • Stacie L. Provencher
  • Michael E. Riley
  • Richard C. Robinson
  • Kelly A. Scott
  • Stephen M. Sedor
  • Gregory F. Servodidio, CRE
  • James T. Shearin
  • John F. Stafstrom Jr.
  • James B. Stewart
  • Marcy Tench Stovall
  • Frederic Ury
  • Diane W. Whitney
  • Zachary T. Zeid

Practice Areas

  • Antitrust Litigation
  • Appellate
  • Bankruptcy and Creditors’ Rights
  • Construction
  • Education Law
  • Eminent Domain
  • Environmental
  • Environmental Law and Litigation
  • Family Law
  • Health Care
  • Labor and Employment Litigation
  • Labor, Employment Law & Employee Benefits
  • Litigation
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Professional Liability
  • Public Finance
  • Real Estate
  • Trusts and Estates
  • Water