My Favorites

The Connecticut Technology Council (CTC) and Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology (CCAT) announced the finalists for the 17th annual Women of Innovation® awards, which recognize and celebrate women throughout Connecticut for their achievement in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

The prestigious awards are earned by women innovators, role models and leaders in STEM. This year’s finalists are scientists, researchers, academics, manufacturers, student leaders, entrepreneurs, and technicians who are catalysts for scientific advancement throughout Connecticut.

The 36 finalists for the 17th annual Women of Innovation Awards were selected from scores of nominations across 10 categories:

  • Entrepreneurial Innovation and Leadership
  • Research Innovation and Leadership
  • Small/Medium Business Innovation and Leadership
  • Large Business Innovation and Leadership
  • Community Innovation and Leadership
  • Inspiring STEM Equitability Award
  • Youth Innovation and Leadership
  • Collegian Innovation and Leadership
  • Secondary Academic Innovation and Leadership
  • Post-Secondary Academic Innovation and Leadership

An award will also be given for Inspiring STEM Equitability, presented to an individual for promoting equality and diversity in STEM.

Winners in each of the 10 categories will be announced a virtual awards ceremony on October 14 at 5:00 p.m.

MHA Investor Finalists

 The MetroHartford Alliance is proud to congratulate several of our investors for their finalist recognition, including:

Jacqueline Duncan, Clinical Professor & Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs
UConn School of Dental Medicine

Alexis Ernst, Ph.D. Candidate, Materials Science & Engineering
University of Connecticut

Amy Gorin, Director
Institute for Collaboration on Health, Intervention and Policy, UConn

Yikun Huang, Ph.D. Candidate
University of Connecticut

Andrea Kwaczala, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Western New England University

Anna Marie LaChance, Ph.D. Candidate
UConn School of Engineering

Lila Lu, F135 Earned Value Analyst
Pratt & Whitney

Xiuling Lu, Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
UConn School of Pharmacy

Nilanjana Maulik, Professor
UConn School of Medicine, UConn Health

Lisa Roy, Director of Government & Community Relations
The Jackson Laboratory

Carolyn Schreiber, Cybersecurity Consulting Principal
Ernst & Young LLP

Michelle Williams, Associate VP for Research
University of Connecticut

Adrienna Yan, Design Engineer
Pratt & Whitney

For a complete list of the Finalists for Women of Innovation Awards, visit