My Favorites

Hartford Symphony Orchestra presents

From the New World

Friday, January 14, 2022 – Sunday, January 16, 2022

Belding Theater at The Bushnell
Friday & Saturday at 8 PM
Sunday at 3 PM


Jeri Lynne Johnson conductor
Michelle Cann piano

Dvorák Slavonic Dances, Op. 46, No. 1 (C Major) & No. 8 (A-flat Major)
BurleighTraditional Spirituals
Price Concerto in One Movement for Piano
Dvorák Symphony No.9 in E minor, Op. 95, “From the New World”

Tickets: $35-$68

“We celebrate the new year with music and artists I have long admired and loved. Piano Concerto in One Movement is composed by Florence Price, who, in 1933, became the first Black woman to have her music performed by a major orchestra. Darker America by Black composer William Grant Still was a response to Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue.  Still treats the blues to a thorough symphonic development in order to chart a triumphant course representative of the African-American experience. Dvorák’s love of spirituals can be heard in his music, especially in the Largo movement of his Symphony No.9, which inspired ‘Goin’ Home.’” – Carolyn Kuan

Concert Sponsor: Saunders Fund for Innovative Programming

Subscriptions and single tickets are on sale now!